Tiny tables & things

You know you live in Springfield when some of your favorite haunts are antique malls.

The trick to finding good stuff when antiquing and thrifting, I think, is imagination. Even if you don’t plan to refurb a piece, it can help to don your thinking cap to picture it outside of the clutter and/or weird lighting of the store. Maybe with a nice flower pot or picture frame on top. Or a cat. Whatever.

Since I’m great at this exercise, I ignored Soner’s protests when he begged me not to buy this metal table for 50 smackaroos:

image

You know, I think it’s got a lot going for it until I get to those “decorative” swirl things. They don’t match the thickness of the rest of the metal, they give it a weird old lady vibe. I mean there’s nothing wrong with that, if that’s what you’re into. I’m going to get myself in trouble.

Anyway, so it’s the weekend and I decided to use our shiny new Dremel tool to cut those suckers off.

Because I don’t know much about these things, I got a pack of these guys.

image

My first one broke after ten seconds.

image

But dammit, I paid for them and I am not going to Lowe’s five times in one weekend. Because I did that last weekend. So back to work (with my safety goggles, of course).

image

Anyway, it was easy after that. I have some grinding to do to get rid of the old welds, and now I’m wondering if I should paint it. Stick with black? Gold? Silver?

image

image

Until next time, signing off.

wpid-2014-05-31-01.16.07-1.jpg.jpeg

Leave a Reply

